16
Jun
07

toycon day1.

*

Conventions are always holidays for collectors; giving them (us) a chance to purchase the things they (we) obsess about. Oh, and also, there’s the slight chance to feel empty afterwards, after being toyconned into buying over-priced goods. (But this is rare.) What, the booths/stands cost a mini-fortune, so merchandisers have to break even too.

The office was there promoting Dangka and TOL, which rocks, since I hear they got a lot of sign-ups. (and sucks, since two of the V masks were picked up! boo!)
(P.S. I’ll be at the booth tomorrow. Whee)

And what did my salary get me? Check it, this signature series Hush Batman costs 250 (two-hundred and fifty) dollars. I got the painted Batman for 900 pesos. Now THAT’S a bargain. Oh, I also got some pokemon figurines — a mudkip and a koffing. If you visit 4chan … “so, I herd you like …”

And in the years of convention attending, I find that I don’t go primarily because of the merch, but I go for the people. It’s always nice seeing my dameat friends, Toy Empire kids, the ZFC people and the AME people. (You guys rock.) Special mention: Mikko, Raz, Dodo, Jori, Blitz, Six-One, CK, Akutenshi, Pope, Mika, Darkmotives and Delru. (Delru even handed me a flier for this year’s AME convention … for December! Now that’s planning!)

(P.S. Ekis yung Grimlock ni Blitz. Haha, kidding, congrats!)
(Photo by Jori)

[this part was supposed to be for last night. fell asleep.]

**
Looking for pants is always tricky for me. Finding one with a great fit counter-balanced with the amount of money I have available is always the issue. Anyhow, what’s up with Levi’s? Do they only come out in buttonfly, oddly-washed and torn styles nowadays? From where I checked, they don’t sell flat-front, straight-cut and zipper-operated jeans anymore. (A man must never struggle with buttonflies when he needs to take a piss.) I tried on a lot of pairs, but it was either too-oddly-washed, the wrong fit or too expensive. Goddamn.

I could always break down and try on a pair of Rock and Republic jeans, only to seal them up and never wear them forever. (The lowest they cost here? 9999.01 pesos.) It’s just not practical with my salary.

I ended up going home with no new pants.

0 Responses to “toycon day1.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

your mind will go pi.hrudu@plurk.robopopjunk! cavefeci abditum.damit co.proudly pinoy!



RSS twitter.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

history.

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

