29
Sep
07

desktop modding.

Rain just isn’t my thing. So instead of getting a bad-ass haircut, I got up this morning, viewed the rain from afar (because I didn’t want to get soaked) and thought, “why not pimp my desktop instead?”

Now let’s see — there are tons and tons of mods out there to make your XP machine look Vista-ish, but it’s just not my thing. I wanted something perky, and sunny (and happy!) — not drab and transparent-for-no-reason.

Besides, the XP Start button is cluttered enough, and Vista’s doesn’t impress me — it’s all cluttered because it tries to cram everything in as little a space as possible.

Here’s what I have so far:

desktop409292007.JPG

Stuff I used:

  • Yahoo! Widgets – I know, I know, they’re the enemy, but these widgets work a lot better than Google Gadgets, of which, you have to install Google Desktop too, not to mention that it’s quite buggy. Third-party widgets vary in quality and whatnot, but as long as they serve the purpose of being functional and pretty, they stay. (Plus, installation’s impressive, it tries to be as seamless and as invisible (in the background) as possible, which is how modern interfaces should work.)

My widgets:

  • Picture Frame – (top-right) It’s bundled in when you install Yahoo! Widgets, and is a great way to view images. (Pictured is a SteamPunk-ish watch that I really want.) Image changes can be set, so every 5 minutes, a new image pops up.
  • NextEpisode – (bottom-right) Is a neat way to keep track of shows you’re following. The settings are a bit klutzy, but once you figure out how to add schedules, it works great. It places the most immediate show you’re following on top, so I know when to schedule my downloads viewing.
  • Informer – (top) Is a well-coded little gem that allows customized viewing for tons of your system stats. (Uptime, network, CPU, disk and memory meters.) There are even buttons you can add, like a shutdown button (to the left) and an eject-USB device button. (to the right)
  • RSS Ticker Tape – (top, just below the Informer widget) Scrolls your RSS feeds a la-stock market quotes. Keeps my desktop looking busy, and makes me keep track of hukayy (hehe) and Steve Pavlina updates. (Is a little hokey, but I guess a bunch of updates will fix this.)
  • Winamp Remote – (bottom-left) Gives me basic play controls for Winamp.

For the various effects:

  • Wallpaper Master – Is an auto-changer for my wallpapers. Changes my wallpaper at startup, or, when I press the system tray button.
  • /wg/ – 4chan’s Wallpapers General board. Since I wanted a sunny theme, I loaded up on wallpapers that had a ton of orange in them. (Take note though, that some of the threads are NSFW, so yeah, disclaimer.)
  • jasmin 3D Color Changer – Gives you the ability to change the colors for every component of a window. It included a summer theme, so I didn’t have to change much. I like how flat the windows look because the 3D highlights and the 3D lights for the windows are pretty much the same.
  • Yahoo! Messenger bronze skin – It’s not shown, but my YM has this installed, to go with the theme, of course.

So there, Desktop Modding with (mostly) freeware. I think it’s a vast improvement over Desktop 2005.

Try it out and hit me back with a couple of screenies!

1 Response to “desktop modding.”


  1. October 6, 2007 at 8:01 am

    Good idea. I want to mess around with my personal computer (finally got one for myself), so this is a good way to start.


Leave a Reply

your mind will go pi.hrudu@plurk.robopopjunk! cavefeci abditum.damit co.proudly pinoy!



RSS twitter.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

history.

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

